Toddler Tools

Sorting and colors.

I recently did a few more activities with my 3 year old and she absolutely loved both of them so I thought I would share! I’m thinking she spent nearly 30 minutes with each activity. The first is grocery sorting. There is a pantry section, a fridge section, and a freezer section and you have to sort out the groceries into the correct place.

You may notice we use the Montessori approach using mats to work on. This teaches her where her working space is and to respect her brothers working space. She also unfolds and folds it back up when she is finished and puts it away.

The next activity is so simple I’m still not sure why I’ve not done it before. Materials needed are water, small cups, food coloring, and towels for clean up. We also used scoops, droppers, and practiced pouring. (Also a Montessori approach to the activity). And really all you do is place the primary colors into separate cups (red,yellow, and blue) and let the child explore mixing colors to see what happens! I.e red mixed with yellow makes orange and so on.

Leave a comment